Haydee Acebo's Blog

Personal Experiences Related to Work and School

The Power of Facebook. Military High School “Teniente Hugo Ortiz.”

I decided to create a private Facebook page called “Comil-G” on February 17th, 2011 to reunite with my friends from the military high school I attended for over a year in Guayaquil, Ecuador.

We started with seven people and after eight months, the page has over 500 members from different generations, grades, and countries. I didn’t think of anything when I sent my first message to the page, “I miss shining my boots” (a mandatory part of the uniform). All of the sudden, members started pouring out with messages about their stories, including one about our daily workouts used as some form of punishment. Ever since then, people still leave messages and pictures that melt my heart.

It’s been over ten years since my class graduated in 1998, but this year a group of leaders (Tito, Omar, Ricardo, Ricardo, Ruddy) organized the first soccer cup called COMIL-CUP. I am so proud of the eight participating teams and of all the people who supported the event.

The final match is this Saturday, October 22nd, 2011 at the high school.

I see my friends having fun from far away but I feel like I’m with them through Facebook. Thank you guys for keeping the friendship going.

https://haydeeacebo.wordpress.com/

http://www.linkedin.com/in/haydeeacebo

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Power of Facebook. Military High School “Teniente Hugo Ortiz.”

  1. Comil G.. Where i became what I am now. All I am is base in their philosophy: Solo venciendote venceras.. And their values Honor, Discipline and Loyalty. Thanks for the blog and the group Haydee..!!

Leave a Reply

