Haydee Acebo's Blog

Personal Experiences Related to Work and School

Stump the HR Executive- Rated G

Birthday 31 came a few days ago and with it some pretty simple goals for the next year: Start an English/Spanish blog, join a charity, and find a job I enjoy.

Here is my first blog.

This morning I attended a monthly breakfast meeting for the Northern Nevada Human Resources Association (NNHRA), which is by the way, one of my favorite associations. The topic for the meeting was “Stump the HR Executive.” We asked questions to some experienced and very smart human resources executives:

  • Matt Krystofiak- Regional VP of Human Resources
  • Jack Eastwick- Senior Consultant
  • Cindy Davis- Director of Human Resources and Administration
  • Steve Blackhall- Director of Human Resources
  • Renee Rungis- Director of Human Resources

I have to say the discussion was extremely productive and the information applies to so many people, such as managers, employees, and citizens. Some of the questions included topics about retention, benefits, health care reform, and layoffs. Here are the highlights of today’s discussion.

  1. Be transparent with employees as far as company objectives, goals on revenue, and plans. Especially if the company is going to go through dramatic changes, such as workforce reduction, change in benefits, and so on. Most employees will be less resentful and will embrace changes when management does not hide key information from employees.
  2. Engage employees by acknowledging their good actions.
  3. Educate employees and keep them actively involved in healthcare. What is the goal here? to control costs and to possibly reduce healthcare premiums. Some tools involve educational campaigns, a 24-hour nurse, toll free numbers.
  4. Layoff management training: Make sure leaders conducting the let go process are professionally trained and are sympathetic of the people on the other end,  “No matter what you feel about these people, at the end of the day you impacted their lives and you’ve got to have some level of empathy.” Steve Blackhall.
  5. Contact your Congressman or Senator about making healthcare reform more workable for employers.

I look forward to more food for thoughts from my colleagues. For more information about NNHRA, please go to http://www.nnhra.org/

 

http://www.linkedin.com/in/haydeeacebo

https://twitter.com/#!/HaydeeAcebo

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Stump the HR Executive- Rated G

  1. Hi Haydee,
    Congratulations and thank you for the recap. It was an event I wish I could have attended. I am a member but I took a huge paycut after a layoff and my employer won’t pay for attending (registration, mileage or allow the time away right now).

    Feel free to check out my blog as well manageyourstaff.wordpress.com. I didn’t know Matt was back…last I knew he was in Vegas.

    Good job!

    • Hi Don. So sorry about your current situation. At least you are one of the fortunate ones to have a job. I will try to recap or write something about our meetings, so be on the lookout. Thank you for sending me the page to your blog.

      I think Matt is still in Vegas. Perhaps he just came for our meeting. He is such a great speaker.

    • Hi Don. I take my comment back, Matt is back in Northern Nevada.

  2. Starlene Regalaod on said:

    Hello Haydee,

    I first want to wish you a Happy Birthday!

    Wonderful job on recaping yesterday’s NNHRA meeting. I found the answers given by the panel to be informative anduseful. I really enjoyed the comradery of the panel.

    Good job on your blog.

    • Oh Starlene! Thank you so much for your message. I just sent you an email asking for your name. Now I know exactly who you are. It’s always great to see you at the meetings.

Leave a Reply

